Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

2017 DCJazzPrix Finalists announced

Jazzed Magazine • News • May 17, 2017

Share This:

The DC Jazz Festival has announced the three 2017 DCJazzPrix finalists, who will perform on June 15 at the University of the District of Columbia Theatre for the Arts as a part of the second annual DC Jazz Festival. The finalists include the AMP Trio ft. Tahira Clayton of New York, Diego Joaquin Ramirez & SULA of New York, and the Ernest Turner Trio of Durham, North Carolina.

Each of the three finalists will be awarded a $15,000 cash prize and a year-long technical assistance association with the DC Jazz Festival. After the three bands perform on June 15, an expert jury will select the winner. The winner will perform a set on the main stage at next year’s DC Jazz Festival.

“It is exciting to help identify and promote the careers of emerging jazz artists committed to the creative and professional development of their very own excellent bands,” said DC Jazz Festival executive director Sunny Sumter. “DCJazzPrix is unique in that it recognizes the unique jazz ritual of the band, in the true democratic tradition of jazz.  It encourages jazz artists to concentrate on band development and personnel stability, increase performance opportunities and business acumen, and broaden their collective output.”

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!