Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

2017 JJA Jazz Awards Nominations Announced

Jazzed Magazine • News • May 4, 2017

Share This:

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced the nominees for the 2017 JJA Jazz Awards. Winners of the awards will be announced online on May 15, and winners will receive their engraved statuettes throughout the summer at their performances across the United States.

Henry Threadgill has the most nominations, including Jazz Musician of the Year, Composer of the Year, Arranger of the Year, Record of the Year (for Old Locks and Irregular Verbs from Pi Recordings), Multi-Reeds Player of the Year and Flutist of the Year. Threadgill won the 2016 Jazz Award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz.

Pianist Joey Alexander, drummer Jerome Jennings, and trumpeter Adam O’Farrill are all contenders for Up and Coming Musician of the Year. Other musicians like saxophonist and bandleader Charles Lloyd, pianist and trio leader Fred Hersch, tenor saxophonist and composer Benny Golson, pianist Ahmad Jamal and pianist McCoy Tyner are up for major awards. The complete list of nominees can be viewed online.

In addition to honoring musicians, Ben Ratliff, Will Friedwald, Ted Gioia, Kevin Whitehead, and John Szwed are all nominated for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism award.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!