Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

2020 NEA Jazz Masters Announced

Jazzed Magazine • News • May 29, 2019

Share This:

The National Endowment for the Arts has announced the four newest recipients of the nation’s highest honor in jazz. Innovative jazz musicians Bobby McFerrin, Roscoe Mitchell, and Reggie Workman, as well as Dorthaan Kirk—who is receiving the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Fellowship for Jazz Advocacy—are the 2020 recipients of NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships. They will be celebrated at a tribute concert on April 2, 2020, at the SFJAZZ Center in San Francisco, California, in collaboration with SFJAZZ.

Acting chairman of the Arts Endowment Mary Anne Carter said, “The 2020 NEA Jazz Masters have made an incredible impact on jazz, whether it’s through their artistic work to expand the musical boundaries of the genre, their educational contributions, or their efforts to reach new audiences for jazz. The National Endowment for the Arts is excited to celebrate these recipients, and to partner with SFJAZZ for the first time, bringing the NEA Jazz Masters events to a different part of the country.”

For the first time since 2005, the NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert will take place in California. This free and open to the public event will honor the 2020 class on April 2, 2020—at the start of Jazz Appreciation Month—at the SFJAZZ Center’s Robert N. Miner Auditorium in San Francisco. The concert will once again be available to worldwide audiences via a live webcast. More information about this event, as well as other related NEA Jazz Masters events in San Francisco, will be available at a later date.

“SFJAZZ is honored to partner with the National Endowment for the Arts to host the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters concert and festivities at the SFJAZZ Center,” says SFJAZZ founder and executive artistic director Randall Kline. “We are proud to have the National Endowment for the Arts on the West Coast to present this new class of Jazz Masters.”

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!