Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

AMP Trio Named DCJazzPrix Winners at DC Jazz Festival

Jazzed Magazine • News • June 29, 2017

Share This:

AMP Trio (featuring Tahira Clayton) were this year’s winners of the second annual DCJazzPrix at the DC Jazz Festival. The NYC-based trio includes pianist Addison Frei, drummer Matt Young, new vocalist Tahira Clayton, and bassist Perrin Grace. 

The band performed at the University of the District of Columbia on June 15, competing against two other finalists, New York City’s SULA, and Durham, North Carolina’s Ernest Turner Trio. 

“We are excited to have completed a successful second DCJazzPrix, a national competition that adds yet more cultural significance to the DC Jazz Festival, and is designed to help launch and promote the careers of emerging jazz ensembles,” said artistic director Willard Jenkins. “All three finalists presented impressive performances. We look forward to working further with the excellent musicians who comprise AMP Trio and Tahira Clayton, who are clearly poised for a raised profile and greater exposure.” 

The band won a $15,000 cash prize, as well as a year-long association with the DC Jazz Festival for professional development, business support, and a main stage 2018 DC Jazz Festival engagement.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!