Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

Blakey, Hampton, and Terry Inducted into JALC’s Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame

Jazzed Magazine • News • June 5, 2013

Share This:

Jazz at Lincoln Center (JALC) proudly inducted Art Blakey, Lionel Hampton, and Clark Terry into the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame (EJHF) this week at an induction ceremony at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Colaat JALC’s home, Frederick P. Rose Hall.

Actor Courtney B. Vance read remarks, written by author Geoff Ward, in honor of each inductee. The ceremony celebrated the new inductees through photo montages and performances by musicians including Jonathan Batiste, Dominick Farinacci, Roy Hargrove, Jimmy Heath, Ali Jackson, Warren Wolf, and many others.

Art Blakey, Lionel Hampton, and Clark Terry earned the majority popular vote cast by jazz fans around the world in an online public vote earlier this year. The EJHF honors legendary artists or members of the jazz community based on his or her singular dedication and outstanding contribution to jazz. To date, Jazz at Lincoln Center has inducted 38 members into the EJHF and will continue to induct new members annually.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!