Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

Jazz Arts Group Announces Winner Of Hank Marr High School Jazz Award

Jazzed Magazine • News • May 16, 2014

The Jazz Arts Group of Columbus (JAG) has announced Christopher Thompson-Taylor of Cincinnati as its winner of the 2014 Hank Marr High School Jazz Award. This award demonstrates excellence in musicianship and performance amongst Ohio’s young students of jazz. Eight extremely talented high school students auditioned for the $500 cash award and the chance to perform with the Columbus Jazz Orchestra and Artistic Director Byron Stripling at the August 8th JazZoo! concert at the Columbus Zoo & Aquarium.

This year’s three finalists were saxophonist Thompson-Taylor, Julian Dittmer, piano, Bexley; and Logan Moore, saxophone, Hilliard. Adjudicators for the final round included: Tom Carroll, guitar, Professor of Music, Denison University; Ray Eubanks, founder of the Jazz Arts Group and former Professor of Music, Capital University; and Jim Rupp, drummer, Professor of Music at Ohio State University, owner Columbus Pro Percussion.

All three finalists, with a rhythm section made up of local professional jazz musicians, performed solo then as an ensemble.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!