Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

Jazz At Lincoln Center Announces 2016 Ertegun Jazz Hall Of Fame Nominees Online Public Vote

Jazzed Magazine • News • May 19, 2016

Share This:

Jazz at Lincoln Center offers jazz fans around the world the opportunity to participate in the 2016 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame induction process. The public can cast votes online via for legendary artists of the jazz community who have been nominated based on their dedication and outstanding contributions to jazz. Voting is open now and will close on May 15 at 11:59 pm ET.

Jazz at Lincoln Center will announce the 2016 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame class on May 17, 2016. The legacy of each inductee will be celebrated at curated sets on July 12-14, 2016 at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola. Viewers can tune in via live webcast at

The 2016 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame nominees are:

  • Jimmie Blanton
  • Roy Haynes
  • JJ Johnson
  • Wayne Shorter
  • Cecil Taylor
  • Frank Trumbauer
  • McCoy Tyner
  • Dinah Washington
  • Ben Webster
  • Teddy Wilson

The 2016 EJHF nominees were selected by a Jazz at Lincoln Center-appointed panel which includes Ed Berger, Bill Charlap, Connie Crothers, Aaron Diehl,Vince Giordano, Monika Herzig, Ethan Iverson, Jerome Jennings, Renee Rosnes, Ellen Rowe, Catherine Russell, Bobby Sanabria, Phil Schaap, Loren Schoenberg, Bria Skonberg, Terell Stafford, and Ben Young. The top three nominees, determined by the popular vote, will be inducted into the 2016 EJHF class.

This initiative is made possible through a generous gift from Ray and Barbara Dalio.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!