Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

Jazz at Lincoln Center Opens Hall of Fame to Public Online Vote

Jazzed Magazine • News • March 8, 2013

Share This:

For the first time, Jazz at Lincoln Center (JALC) is offering jazz fans around the world the opportunity to participate in the Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame (NEJHF) induction process.  The public can cast their votes online for the legendary artists or members of the jazz community who have been nominated based on his or her singular dedication and outstanding contribution to jazz.  Voting will close on March 31, 2013 at 11:59 PM EST.

The 2013 NEJHF nominees are: Art Blakey, Jimmie Blanton, Kenny Clarke, Lionel Hampton, Roy Haynes, James P. Johnson, Don Redman, Clark Terry, Ben Webster, Teddy Wilson.

The 2013 NEJHF nominees were selected by a JALC-appointed panel which includes Ed Berger, Bill Charlap, Connie Crothers, Stanley Crouch, Jon Faddis, Vince Giordano, Wynton Marsalis, Dianne Reeves, Phil Schaap, Loren Schoenberg, and Spike Wilner.

A maximum of four nominees gaining 75% of the popular vote will be inducted as part of the 2013 NEJHF class.  In the event no nominees receive 75% of the vote, the single top vote getter will be inducted.  Jazz at Lincoln Center will announce the 2013 NEJHF class on April 2nd, 2013.  This new class will be celebrated on June 4, 2013 in a private induction ceremony at JALC’s Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola.

Fans can cast their votes at the JALC’s website.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!