Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

JJA 21st annual Jazz Award Winners Announced

Jazzed Magazine • News • June 1, 2017

Share This:

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced winners of its 21st annual Jazz Awards in all 41 categories of excellence in music and music journalism.

McCoy Tyner, 78, was honored for his Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, while Joey Alexander, 13, was named Up and Coming Musician of the Year. Pianist of the Year went to Kenny Barron. René Marie and Gregory Porter won Female Singer of the Year and Male Singer of the Year, respectively. 

Ted Gioia was the recipient of the JJA’s Award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism, and Ethan Iverson of The Bad Plus won the Jazz Blog of the Year Award for “Do The Math.”

Other award-winners include Composer of the Year Ted Nash, and Trumpeter of the Year Brian Lynch, who also won the Record of the Year Award for “Madera Latino – A Latin Jazz Perspective on the Music of Woody Shaw” (Hollistic MusicWorks).

Awards for excellence in jazz journalism will be presented at the Golden Unicorn Restaurant, 18 E. Broadway, New York City on June 6.

You can see all winners and finalist nominees for the 2017 Jazz Awards at

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!