Subscribe now for free! JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!

National Endowment For The Arts Names 2019 Jazz Masters

Jazzed Magazine • News • July 11, 2018

Share This:

The National Endowment for the Arts has announced that vocalist, composer and pianist Bob Dorough, pianist and composer Abdullah Ibrahim, composer and bandleader Maria Schneider, and jazz historian and author Stanley Crouch have been awarded the NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships for 2019.

Each year, the National Endowment for the Arts bestows the nation’s highest honor in jazz—the NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships—on individuals who have made significant contributions to the art form.

Sadly, Bob Dorough passed away shortly after being notified of his Jazz Masters honor. The 2019 recipients will be celebrated at a free tribute concert, which will take place on Monday, April 15, 2019 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC, and streamed online.

“The National Endowment for the Arts is proud to celebrate jazz, an art form born in the United States that has since been embraced worldwide,” said NEA acting chairman Mary Anne Carter. “These four new NEA Jazz Masters have been key players in jazz throughout their lives and careers, ensuring that the music will continue to grow and reach new audiences.”

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!