Working from home? Switch to the DIGITAL edition of JAZZed. CLICK HERE to signup now!
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

NEA Statement on the Death of Jazz Master Yusef Lateef

Share This:

It is with great sadness that the National Endowment for the Arts acknowledges the passing of 2010 NEA Jazz Master Yusef Lateef, a virtuoso on the traditional jazz instruments of saxophone and flute. Lateef also brought a broad spectrum of sounds to his music through his mastery of Middle Eastern and Asian reed instruments. A major force on the international musical scene for more than seven decades, he was one of the first to bring a world music approach to traditional jazz.

Growing up in Detroit’s fertile musical environment, Lateef established personal and musical relationships with such jazz legends as Kenny Burrell<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/kenny-burrell>, Donald Byrd<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/donald-byrd>, Paul Chambers, Tommy Flanagan<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/tommy-flanagan>, Milt Jackson<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/milt-jackson>, Barry Harris<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/barry-harris>, the Jones brothers (Hank<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/hank-jones>, Thad, and Elvin<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/elvin-jones>), and Lucky Thompson. In 1949, he was invited to perform with the Dizzy Gillespie<http://arts.gov/honors/jazz/john-birks-dizzy-gillespie> Orchestra, a defining moment in developing his sound.

In the 1950s and 1960s, he worked with Charles Mingus and Cannonball Adderley before moving on his own diverse solo career. As a composer, Lateef compiled a body of work for soloists, small ensembles, chamber and symphony orchestras, stage bands, and choirs. In 1987, he won a Grammy Award for his recording Yusef Lateef’s Little Symphony, on which Lateef played all the instruments.

The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!

Check Out Some Past JazzEd Magazine Issues